• GSA Athletic Achievements

    State Championships
    Boys' Basketball: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2003, 1979, 1948

    Sailing: 2010, 2006, 1999, 1996

    Baseball: 2004, 2003, 1997
    Boys' Cross Country: 2022, 2015, 1993, 1960

    Boys' Tennis: 2004
    Girls' Cross Country: 2016

    Regional Championships
    Boys' Tennis: 2021, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2004, 2003, 2002
    Baseball: 2016, 2009, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 1997, 1996, 1994, 1989

    Girls' Tennis: 2017, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2007, 2001
    Girls' Soccer: 2006, 2004, 2001, 2000
    Boys' Soccer: 2002, 1996, 1995
    Boys' Cross Country: 2022, 2020, 2015, 1999, 1993, 1992, 1960

    Girls' Cross Country: 2020, 2018, 2017, 2016, 1982
    Softball: 2010, 1999 (Class B), 1992
    Girls' Basketball: 2009, 2000, 1999 (Class B)
    Boys' Basketball: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2003, 1979, 1948

    Golf- State Class B Runners-up, 1997

    Volleyball: 2021

    Individual Achievements 

         Spring 2022: Maranda Pert, State Champion in the Discus

         Fall 2021: Thea Crowley, No. 8 in the New England Cross Country Championship

         Spring 2021: Franklin Sealander, State Champion in the 110M Hurdles; Andy Hipsky, Clark Morrison, Noah Czuj, Tommy Norgang, State Champions in the 4x800M Relay; Maranda Pert, State Champion in the Discus.

         Spring 2019: LeeAnn Varnum, State Champion in the Shot Put.

         Spring 2018: Eliza Broughton, Zeya Lorio, Mary Richardson, Mary Brenna Catus, State Champions in the 4x800M.

         Winter 2018: Ava Sealander, State Champion in the 200M Individual Medley.

         Spring 2017: John Hassett, State Champion in the 1600 & 3200; Morgan Dauk, State Champion in the Javelin; Eliza Brougton, State Champion in the 300 Hurdles; Erik Taylor-Lash, State Champion in the 1600 race walk; Meredith Bradshaw Thomas, John Hassett, Trent Williamson, Cameron Gordon, State Champions in the 4x800 relay. 

         Winter 2017: Morgan Dauk and Taylor Schildroth both scored their 1,000th point as GSA basketball players. 

         Fall 2016: John Hassett was the individual State Champion in Class C Cross Country.

         Winter 2012:  Alex Turanski, a senior at GSA, became the 3rd person in GSA history to win 100 wrestling matches. At an all-school assembly, Alex was presented with a plaque from Athletic Administrator Jim Murphy, congratulating him on his accomplishment.   

         Winter 2011: Jordan Lord, a junior at GSA, became the 2nd person in GSA history to win 100 wrestling matches. A few weeks later at an all-school assembly at GSA, Jordan was presented with a plaque by Athletic Administrator Jim Murphy, congratulating him on his accomplishment.

         Winter 2009: Maddie Park scored her 1,000th point as a GSA girls' basketball player.

         Fall, 2009: The GSA Golf Team, coached by Dwayne Carter, qualified for the State Team Championship. Team members were: Max Reiter, Storme Macomber, Evan Motycka, Jesse Dow, David Bertrand, Nick Dillon, and Jasper AdamStorme Macomber qualified for the State Individual Championships.

         Winter 2007Tysen Ober, a senior at GSA, earned his 100th win on the wrestling mat at a meet at Hermon High School on January 13. Early in his high school wrestling career, Ober chose not to include forfeits as wins, so this milestone includes only wins for outplaying his opponent. At an all-school assembly at GSA on January 17, Athletic Director Jim Murphy presented Ober with a plaque in honor of his accomplishment.

         Fall 2006: On December 3, at the Maine Soccer Coaches Association awards banquet, Kayla Eaton ’08, Laura Overton ’08 and Winslow Brokaw ’07 were named to the Maine Soccer Coaches Association Eastern Maine Class C All-Star Team.

         Fall 2006Winslow Brokaw was named to the Girls Eastern Maine State All-Star Team at the Maine Soccer Coaches Association awards banquet on December 3, 2006.

         Fall 2006Coach Steve Bemiss was named Girls Eastern Maine Coach of the Year at the Maine Soccer Coaches Association awards banquet on December 3, 2006.

         Fall 2006: GSA senior Addison Pellerano ran his way to a first-place finish in the Boys Class C X-Country Championship on October 21 in Belfast, then placed third in the state championship on November 4 at Leavitt Area High School.

         Spring 2006: On June 29, Collin Henry of Penobscot was honored with the 15th annual Dr. John W. Winkin Award. This award, known as the Mr. Baseball award, recognizes the top high school senior player in the state. Collin started as first baseman all four years and was a starting pitcher for the last three. A lefthander, Collin finished the 2006 season with a record of 4-2. He also posted two saves, 54 strikeouts in 35 innings, and an ERA of 1.01. Collin’s batting average this year was .477 including six home runs and 23 runs batted-in.

         Winter 2001Luke Whyte won the State Championship in Class C Wrestling in the 160-lb weight class. Luke is our only state champion in Wrestling. 

    Sportsmanship Awards

    Sportsmanship is a demonstration of generosity and genuine concern for others. It is a concrete measure of the understanding and commitment to fair play, ethical behavior, and integrity. A good sport is known for the manner of his/her acceptance of the rules of the game or of a difficult situation.

    The following teams have been awarded MPA or other sportsmanship awards in the years indicated.

    Baseball: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2013, 2008, 2004, 2002

    Boys' Basketball: 2002, 1991, 1990, 1979
    Girls' Basketball: 2018, 2009, 2008, 1998

    Girls' Soccer: 2021, 2016

    Golf: 2014, 2017

    Boys' Soccer: 2021

    Softball: 2017

    Girls' Track: 2017

    Girls' Cross Country: 2017

    Volleyball: 2022

    Wrestling: 2001


    Hall of Fame

    2022 Inductees

    Steve Bemiss Sr: Coach

    Nikki (Allen) Capone '00: Track, Basketball, Soccer, Softball

    Catherine Galipeau '94: Cross Country, Track

    Owen Gilmore '04: Tennis

    Bill Gray '83: Coach, Athlete, Groundskeeper

    Collin Henry '06: Soccer, Basketball, Baseball

    Nick Henry '03: Soccer, Baseketball, Baseball

    Forrest A. Horton '61: Cross Country

    Matt Mattson '91: Soccer, Basketball, Baseball

    Misha Mytar '98: Tennis

    Read More


    Inaugural inductees (2018)

    Annie Allen: Cross Country, Basketball, Soccer, Softball

    Lora Trenkle Cooperman: Basketball

    Bryan Graham: Cross Country, Track

    Matt Haney: Baseball, Basketball, Soccer

    Edd Hardie: Friend of GSA Athletics

    James Murphy: Athletic Director, Coach

    Dwayne Webber: Baseball, Basketball


    Hall of Fame Criteria

    Hall of Fame Nomination Forms